Skip to main content
Sarah Gurr award

Professor Gurr received her award at the Jodrell Laboratory at Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Exeter fungal experts win prestigious awards

Two University of Exeter researchers have won prestigious awards for their work in mycology (the study of fungi).

Professor Sarah Gurr received the British Mycological Society (BMS) President's Award for outstanding contributions to mycology and the BMS.

This award is given only occasionally, when the BMS president feels a person of special merit in the world of mycology should be formally recognised.

Professor Gero Steinberg won the John Webster Award, which is given in recognition of an outstanding contribution to fungal research.

Professor Gurr said: “I am honoured and delighted to receive this award from the BMS.

“Fungi are fascinating – they pervade every aspect of our daily lives.

“I have been fortunate to work with many talented colleagues both here in Exeter and formerly at Oxford, to further our understanding of their impact on food security as well as gaining a better understanding of their mechanisms of pathogenesis. This prize is thanks to their efforts too.”

Professor Steinberg said: “I am delighted to have received the John Webster Award, acknowledging my scientific contributions to fungal research.

“The BMS has an international reputation. Receiving a prize from this society is an honour for which I am deeply grateful.

“Moreover, Professor John Webster, who lived and worked in Exeter, features in my first-year lectures; a prize in his name closes the circle and highlights that Exeter is still at the forefront of fungal research.”

As winner of the John Webster Award, Professor Steinberg will be invited to present a lecture at next year's BMS Main Scientific Meeting.

Date: 26 November 2018

Read more University News